Mairsy Dotes

"No faith is as solid as a wounded faith."

Keep a weather eye on the horizon… June 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — beege @ 8:02 am

This is a shot of one of my favorite places in the entire world. My experience of the world is not vast, but I’m hard-pressed to think of anything that I would love like I love this view (possible exception: the way the wind moves the grain on this hills of the Palouse).

Before I took M to the ocean with me for the first time, I showed him some pictures. He was utterly gobsmacked, and pronounced it a Fairy Tale Land. Growing up there? I didn’t see it. It was just “the beach” to me, you know? But having been exiled to the midwest for a decade? I can safely agree with my beloved. You expect to see Gandolf step out of the forest, or a pirate ship tucked into that little curve, or elves, or hobbits, or any number of magical creatures. Mountains right down to the beach, huge, rolling breakers, the scent of damp beach grass…is it any wonder that I feel closer to God there? That I feel SO much more creative there? Probably not.

This year, I’m bringing my new netbook, Pheobe. So that when the urge to write hits, I don’t have to just ignore it, or jot things down on scraps of paper, or go to the store and buy a spiral bound notebook (because for some reason, I NEVER think to bring one with me). In 13 days…

Yesterday was a bad mom day. I was in a GREAT mood. The girls? Not so much, and sucked the good moodness right outta me. By the time M came home, I was crabby, Sarah was dressed only in a diaper because I wasn’t up to fighting with her after her emergency shower that she got because she colored her ENTIRE face with markers when my back was turned, and Nea was grounded to her room for the rest of the day because she’d refused to do every damn thing I’d asked her to do that day. The punishment wasn’t as harsh as it sounds. They’ve got a television, movies, tons of art supplies, and a crap-ton of toys. Sarah was free to go in and play with Nea if she wanted. But it kept little Miss Sassbox out of my hair, and there’s a lot to be said for that. Here’s hoping today goes better.

 

Leave a Reply

