Mairsy Dotes

"No faith is as solid as a wounded faith."

19 Days June 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — beege @ 9:22 am

You don’t find a lot of seashells on the beach where we go. The breakers are too big and too powerful–you find a lot of shell pieces. But it’s still fun. Occasionally, you can find the most amazing teeny tiny eeny weeny baby shells. One year, my Dad found one that was about the size of a Grape Nut. It was pefectly formed, just in extreme miniature. It was gorgeous.

The girls have a playdate with Miss Katie today. I’m not that excited about it. Things got a little weird with Miss Katie toward the end. Not in any way that makes me think the girls shouldn’t spend time with her, but just makes me not really want to hang with her a whole lot because I’m not sure what we’ll talk about. I think she and I look at the world in two very different ways. (Really? A Baptist and a Lutheran look at the world in different ways? Indeed. ‘Tis true.)

My brother is coming home for the summer. He works as part of the grounds maintenence crew at the local farm-team ball park. This means summer to me more than even the macaroni salad and corn on the cob we had with our grilled bratwurst last night. He can get us comp tickets to the games. Is there anything better than sitting in a ballpark on a cooling desert night, drinking beer, smelling the scent of sage in the breeze, and watching a game? Outside of my little on-going countdown: I can’t think of much.

Sarah has learned “Take me Out to the Ballgame” and sings it and asks to go see the baseball men.  I think it’s going to be a baseball-rich summer for us. And that’s fine by me. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

