Mairsy Dotes

"No faith is as solid as a wounded faith."

A New Look March 13, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — beege @ 3:51 pm

Yep, it’s still me: Beege. Just did a little freshening up around here–it’s spring (even in Minnesota) and I’m nesting, so it seemed like the thing to do.

For those of you keeping score at home: this week I will enter my 35th week of pregnancy. I’m fairly round, but carrying everything out in front. I got in an argument (well, argument is a strong word, although I DID have to fight the urge to pull hair) with two cashiers at my grocery store who swore based on the way I was carrying that I was actually going to have a boy, not a girl, because nobody who carries their baby all out in front like I am has a girl. I just smiled and said, “Well, I’ll be sure and let her sister know that, since I carried my first daughter the same way.” I post on a bulletin board for other expectant mothers, and one of their major complaints throughout our pregnancies has been about strangers who come up and touch their bellies. I’ve never had that happen–either this time, or with Nea. But I AM looking forward to not having strangers feel like because I’m pregnant they can just assault me with their every opinion of pregnancy, childbirth, and parenting. I was actually verbally assaulted by a woman who was flaming PISSED that I’d found out the sex of my baby.

Whaaaaaaa…?

I didn’t know this woman. I’d never seen her before in my life. I hope I never see her again. And if she hadn’t been a customer at the store, I would have had a few choice words for her. Shit. I probably should have let her have it, anyway, the old biddy.

I’ve been given advice on how homebirth is better, how I should never attempt childbirth without an epidural, how I should/should not vaccinate my child, how I should bank the cordblood, how cordblood banking is just a scam, how to “naturally” induce labor, etc. It’s insane. It’s like I have, “I’m pregnant. Please, enlighten me. I’m living on tenterhooks to hear your opinions on everything you think I’m going through.” tattooed on my belly.

Five more weeks. Five more weeks. Five more weeks.

Then I’ll move on to bitching about a whole new set of stuff. 🙂 Just for you.

 

One Response to “A New Look”

  1. mojavi Says:

    yeah, I was only physically felt up once by a “Special” girl opening doors at the local Olive Garden. I was shocked to say the least but because she was “special” I held my tongue. And everyone and their mother gave me ASSVICE! 5 more weeks girl…………


Leave a comment