Mairsy Dotes

"No faith is as solid as a wounded faith."

Knock knock knock and I knocked some more… October 31, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — beege @ 6:25 pm

I felt the baby move for the first time. 🙂

When my in-laws were here a few weeks’ ago, my MIL asked if I’d felt any movement yet. I replied that sometimes I thought I felt movement, but then I would toot, so I knew it wasn’t the baby.  Just flatulence.

My first morning of unemployment, M and I were celebrating by indulging in a “lying in” (I totally swiped that phrase from my Brit friends. I love it.), he snuggled up behind me and cupped his hand around my ever-increasing bulge and gave it a slight squeeze. At which point I felt two distinct taps against his hand. Of course, the baby is nowhere near big enough for M to have felt them, too, but I passed along the message, “The baby says, ‘Hi, Dad!'”

 So I’ve been the grateful recipient of taps and wiggles several times a day. This baby moves differently than Linnea. Nea felt like a little goldfish in there…Q has moved right on into the taps and dips and jabs. Not as many flutters. Of course, this baby has lived her entire life getting kneed, elbowed, and crowded in upon by her older sister, while Nea just had my gentle caresses along my belly. Perhaps wee Q is simply more active in self-defense, a  prenatal barbaric yawp, “I’m in here, dammit!”

Sweet, surprising, feisty, tenacious baby: you certainly are in there, and I couldn’t be happier about it.

 

3 Responses to “Knock knock knock and I knocked some more…”

  1. Sal Says:

    Yay! I love that feeling….though must admit it’s starting to keep me awake at night now and the novelty is wearing off…but that first sensation – that reassuring flutter. Ah it’s great. Glad you had a lie in – i have one every sunday and it’s essential.

    My bump is waving at your bump

    Sal x

  2. jessmonster Says:

    “Prenatal barbaric yawp” – I love it.

  3. beege Says:

    I know. I love the first movements, too–before you become a human punching bag. Sal, were we pregnant together the first time around, too? Nea was born in January of 2004…Oz was August of 2004 wasn’t he?


Leave a Reply

