Mairsy Dotes

"No faith is as solid as a wounded faith."

Odds ‘n ends May 21, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — beege @ 3:54 pm
  • Hey, Linnea from Texas! The link you left to your blog doesn’t work. Will you leave it for me again, pretty please? 🙂
  • Clearly, still into bullets. Except now I see a really cool little thing were Blogger will do the bullets for you. I’m going to switch to those.
  • I went to the doctor, and after waiting for about an hour got to see one. Yep. Bladder infection. They put me on a three-day run of antibiotics AND gave me a Diflucan tablet to take so the yeast infection wouldn’t come back. I love doctors who are women. They so get it.
  • The medicine? Already she is working…no more burning, no more pain. Thanks be to God for modern medicine.
  • Linnea (the one from my loins, not the one from Texas) has been sleeping for about three hours now. Yee-haw, buckaroos! Hope this doesn’t make bedtime a bitch, ‘cuz it’s sure made the afternoon nice.
  • Kara–thanks for the yogurt tip. I’ve gotten it before. But I loathe yogurt. I usually force myself to eat it when I’m on the antibiotics, but didn’t that time and well, I paid for it. It’s just so yucky…a cup of thick, creamy, sourness with chunks in it? No thanks. I’ll take a yeast infection.
  • Christy–thanks for your kind words! I really appreciate them. I’m in a pretty good place about all this, because I know that God wouldn’t have given me the gifts that he has if he wanted me working retail the rest of my life. Clearly, he wants me working retail now, but this is just a temporary gig. When something in the church opens up, it’s going to just blow the doors off ‘cuz it will be exactly right for me.

Now I’m off to cook some dinner. I haven’t forgotten the non-whiney entry (this isn’t it), but there’s just not enough hours in the day, particularly when you spend about three of them unconscious on the couch (like I did).

 

4 Responses to “Odds ‘n ends”

  1. Christy Says:

    Hi Beege..glad you’re feeling better. Here’s a recipe for a smoothie that contains yogurt…but you won’t know it.
    (I discovered it because I’m doing Weight Watchers and LOVE shakes, but don’t want the points!)
    1 cup skim milk (I use 2%…skim looks and tastes like water to me)
    1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt
    1/2 ounce (1/2 of a pkg) of instant sugar free/fat free vanilla pudding
    fruit of your choice (I use frozen strawberries)

    Put in blender and blend til smooth. Yummy! I like using the frozen fruit because it blends and doesn’t leave those chunks of fruit. It’s very low fat and I swear you won’t taste the yogurt.(Its also 2 points per cup and a 1/4…makes two servings)I just drink the whole thing and call it breakfast!

    Christy

  2. beege Says:

    Does it keep you full for very long?

    I try and eat a protein-heavy breakfast because I never know when I’m going to get lunch and protein keeps me going longer.

    And do you SWEAR you can’t taste the yogurt? Some of the biggest fights I ever got into with my mother when I was growing up were over yogurt. She couldn’t believe I didn’t like it, didn’t understand why I thought it tasted sour, and she would literally force-feed me strawberry yogurt. Those chunks would hit the back of my throat and I’d gag and she thought I was being all dramatic….heh. Who knew someone could have so much baggage around yogurt?!

  3. jess Says:

    You could also try keifir in smoothies – it’s a cultured dairy product like yogurt but runnier. We make our own but you can buy it, too. It’s sour but in a smoothie it’s perfect – a banana, a bunch of frozen berries, and enough keifir to make it all go around. YUM. I usually eat a little something else, too, when I have it for breakfast.

  4. Christy Says:

    I swear it doesn’t taste like yogurt. Use the frozen fruit and it doesn’t have that slimy texture that fresh fruit can have when you put it in the smoothies. 🙂 The pudding makes it thick and rich and you can eat it with a spoon if you want. Let me know what you think. Hope you like it. (I can’t stand plain yogurt, so if I’m addicted to them, they must be good!)


Leave a Reply

