Mairsy Dotes

"No faith is as solid as a wounded faith."

The next chapter in the continuing saga October 21, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — beege @ 1:39 pm

Well, I went and interviewed with Macy’s this morning.

They loved me, I didn’t love them. Just got a bad vibe about working there. Nothing horrendous, like they had dismembered bodies in the backroom that they used instead of platic manequins or anything like that. Just that what they wanted from a person working their salesfloor wasn’t anything that I was willing to give. I’m not pushy. I don’t like to BE pushed. I don’t like TO push. Plus, I was finding it difficult to summon even the smallest particle of excitement over working in handbags, luggage, and accessories. Ergo: it would have been a bad match from the start.

I walked into the “Three-tier interview/we’ll give you FT and benies/oh wait, nevermind, part time it is” store and realized that I wanted to work there. I wanted to work surrounded by the beautiful clothes and the fun and friendly women. And they very much want to get me into management, but they want to get me trained first. Which makes perfect sense. You wouldn’t want someone in charge who didn’t know what was going on–we’ve all had jobs like that, and they’ve all sucked.

So, I’m employed. I have a job. It’s not the job I thought I’d get. But it’s a good job for me. Plus, I get a totally killer discount on fabulous clothing. What’s not to love about that?

 

2 Responses to “The next chapter in the continuing saga”

  1. Dixie Says:

    Yay! Sounds like it should all work out after all.

    Scoop up some killer clothes.

  2. Jess Says:

    So much better than handbags at Macy’s. You’ll work your way up, no worries – and for the time being it’s a paycheck. I’m a big fan of paychecks.


Leave a Reply

