Mairsy Dotes

"No faith is as solid as a wounded faith."

112380830018152524 August 11, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — beege @ 7:48 pm

Soooo…what classic female literary character am I? Ms. Lizzie Bennett.

I can live with that.

Or, perhaps more to the point: I handle sleeping with Mr. Darcy. 😉 I can remember the first time I read P&P. It was in high school. I’d just finished and fallen in love with Wuthering Heights (still a favorite–I’ve got entire passages memorized, and as far as movie versions go: you can’t beat Ralph Fiennes as a tortured Heathcliff), and just steamrolled right on into P&P. I read it with a friend, and we were made all swoony with our imagined Mr. Darcys.

You know, I wonder if modern writers are writing and developing characters that will live like the characters from the classics do? I know the odds are against most books acheiving that sort of status, but some obviously will. So how about it: What modern books (writen from 1950’s to today) will stand the test of time. One hundred years from now, who will be mentioned as great characters from ‘classic’ literature?

 

6 Responses to “112380830018152524”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Blog readers younger, richer than average Web surfer
    Good news for Web log publishers with aspirations of making money off their sites — compared to the average Internet user, visitors to Web logs, or blogs, tend to be younger and to belong to a wealthier …
    You have a super blog here! I’m bookmarking this site.

    I have a coin grading site. It covers coin grading related stuff.

    Come and check it out if you get time 🙂

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Hello,

    you got a quite interesting blog here. I really enjoyed reading here and think I’m
    going to bookmark it.

    My Page is a divorce mediator related
    site. Check it out.

  3. Skittles Says:

    You’re Jane Eyre of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte!

    Very interesting post. 🙂 Nice site too.

  4. Dixie Says:

    I was just saying to B the other day that I can easily see the Harry Potter series being popular in a hundred years from now.

    Other classics? To Kill a Mockingbird and The Catcher in the Rye.

  5. Jess Says:

    Good question. I can see some of Barbara Kingsolver’s characters living on. They’ve definitely stuck with me since reading them. Hmm. I’m definitely going to have to think on this for a while.

  6. Sara Joy Says:

    I’m Elizabeth Bennet too!!

    No surprises there….

    how’s the new apartment??


Leave a Reply

